I Will Act Now by Og Mandino

rejg

One sunday morning, after shooting some hoops at the IDS multi-purpose hall, I sat on a wooden bleacher to take a break. While looking down on the ground, I noticed a piece of trash. I picked up this paper and curiously unfolded it to see its content.

As I read the piece, I thought to myself, “wow, this is very good writing. Who could have composed it?” Images then flashed back on my mind wondering who among the students could have came up with such  an inspiring composition. Then I saw the name: Og Mandino

I googled the guy and I was suprised. He was actually famous – rather a well known American author of self-help and motivation books. This just caught my full attention as thoughts of Law of Attraction filled my head. I researched the internet as I was eager to know his biography. I found a summary of his story online at success.com

Anyway, before I side track to further realizations, here is an excerpt of Og’s I will act now from his The Ten Scrolls. I haven’t read the book as I am still looking for it. The text below is taken from the piece of paper.


I will act now by Og Mandino

I will not avoid the task of today and change them to tomorrow for I know that tomorrow never comes. Let me act now even though my actions may not bring happiness or success, for it is better to act and fail than not to act and flounder. Happiness, in truth, may not be fruit plucked by my action, yet without action, all fruit will die on the vine.

I will act now. I will act now. I will act now. Henceforth, I will repeat these words over and over, each day, every day, until the words become as much a habit as my breathing, and the actions which follows become as instinctive as the blinking of my eyelids. With these words I can condition my mind to perform every act necessary for my success. With these words, I can condition my mind to meet every challenge which failure avoids.  I will act now.

I will repeat these words over and over. When I face temptation, I will say them and immediately act to remove myself from evil.

When I am tempted to quit and begin again tomorrow, I will say them. Only action determines my value and worth, and to multiply my value, I will multiply my actions. I will work when failure seek rest. I will talk when failure remains silent. I will say it is done before the failure says it is too late.I will act now.

For now is all I have. Tomorrow is the day reserved for the labor of the lazy. I am not lazy. Tomorrow is the day when the evil becomes good. I am not evil. Tomorrow is the day when the weak becomes strong. I am not weak. Tomorrow is the day when failure will succeed. I am not a failure.

When the lion is hungry, he eats. When the eagle is thirsty, he drinks. Lest they act both will perish. I hunger for success. I thirst for happiness and peace of mind. Lest I act, I will perish in life of failure, misery and sleepless night. I will command and I will obey mine own command. I will act now.

Success will not wait. If I delay, she will become betrothed to another and lost to me forever. This is the time. This is the place. I am the man.

I will act now.


The original script can be found here. Or you could purchase his book The Greatest Salesman in the World.

A very strong willed man – this Og Mandino guy – but you can’t blame him after what happened in his life. A story worth referencing.

I always believe on the philosophy that no matter who you are or where you came from, it doesn’t matter. Everyone has the equal opportunity of achieving success, in whatever definition you make out of it, and it always starts with a choice followed by guided decisions. 

No matter where you are now or whatever you do never give up. Never give up on yourself. Never give up on your dream. You are valued as a person. Whatever stumbling block there is, you can overcome it. Be the person you are created to be.

I personally have read many self-help, motivational and inspirational books. It started on the year 2012. I like reading because it helps me improve. I recommend you to read books too, one of your interest. My advice, always read. Be open minded and never stop learning. You will never know what you will learn in those books. As the saying goes: knowldge is power. But then I learned that applied knowledge is wisdom.

Og Mandino is one author you need to put on your list along with some of my favorite: Francis J. Kong, Chinkee Tan, Paulo Coelho, Mitch Albom, Napoleon Hill, Robert Kiyosaki, Donald Trump, C.S. Lewis

Somehow, there was a purpose why I moved to my aunt’s house. I stumbled upon all the books they have left behind and some were very interesting. There was this one time, after I was now acquainted with Og Mandino, while I was going through the books on the shelf, I found this book:

ogM

Yep. I know right? It is one of Og Mandino’s book, University of Success. Talk about coincidence. Imagine the glow in my eyes. 😀 I just started reading it and I am excited of all the new things that I will discover and learn. I still got 2 books pending to read, anyhow. 

Thanks for reading!

Have you heard of Og before? What books written by him did you read? What books are you looking forward to read throughout the year? Share your experience on the comment section. I’d be happy to know. 🙂

Posted on September 7, 2015, in Books, outside the box. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. can you help me can you just explain to me that poem?

    Like

    • Hi Manuel, I will act now as I understand it is simply doing things that you need to do in order to move forward to the things that you are aiming for in life, or your goal – whether short term or long term.

      Focus on what you need to do and act on it, whether it is a task at work or at school. No one grows by procrastinating. As the saying goes, today is yesterday’s tomorrow.

      Small actions/steps everyday will lead you to your destination.

      Like

Share your thoughs ^_^

