Dahilayan Forest Park – Manolo Fortich

All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them. – Walt Disney

Whether to finish at school with high honors, to win that trophy or gold medal, to get on that stage to perform, to travel around the world, to start that business, or to volunteer and give back to the community, from the words of Lailah Gifty Akita, “no dream is too big to come true because you are born to manifest the glory of God on earth. The pursuit of dreams is the fulfillment of the scriptures and your divine spirit of personal power should inspire you to pursue your dreams.”

But your dream is not just wishful thinking. If you want to make your dreams come true, you have to put in the effort and make a reasonable plan.

Some of the things that I want to do are on my bucket list. As I constantly check on my list, I am amazed at how each of them are being crossed done. The Lord is good, indeed.


Barangay Dahilayan is located at the municipality of Manolo Fortich at Bukidnon. This place is a site most visited by travelers and locals for its tourist attraction – Dahilayan Adventure Park and Dahilayan Forest Park. If you are looking for relaxation and adventure, this is a must visit place in Mindanao.

How to get there

If you don’t have private car, you can avail of the shuttle bus service. One stations at Coffeeworks divisoria near Xavier University. Fare is 350 php back and forth, available saturdays 8:00-8:30 am. It has a capacity of roughly 20 persons. You probably would arrive around 10am as the bus goes directly to the adventure park. Your other option would be a shuttle bus from magnum express, a more modern-safe-fast bus compared to the other one. Fare is 249 php and stations at Limketkai near the souvenir shop. I suggest you take this one, cheaper and more convenient. It goes directly to the forest park just ahead the adventure park.

Dahilayan Forest Park

Luge

The Luge ride is one of the cutest ride ever. Very easy to manipulate. You sit down and stretch your legs a bit, you hold the handle. To lounge down the slopping hill, you just pull the handle towards you, enough angle to loosen the clutch that grips its mini wheels. When you feel like you are going too fast or about to turn  a curve, you just push the handle again to put some friction so that it will halt.

It cost 600 per head and you get to ride the Luge twice. Also included in the package is the entrance for the hanging bridge and the mini putt golf.

Luge
luge finish

Hanging bridge

The hanging bridge is quite the stroll. I thought it would be an easy-peasy but when I got to the middle of the bridge, I felt my knees start to weaken. I got a little panic and my heart started to pump a little faster than normal. My fear hightened when few people on the other end where starting to cross the bridge too.

Hbridge

Hang bridge

Forest Putt Mini Golf

The mini golf consist of 18 holes. It was great to play this, I got a hole in one! After the Luge ride, this is perfect to calm those shaking knees after crossing the hanging bridge. If you pay to ride the Luge, this mini gulf is included in the route/package, as well as the hanging bridge. But if you want to try the mini golf separate, that’s 150 until you finish. It was worth it. Time consuming but worth it. 30-45 mins I guess.

mini golf
golf

All-Terrain Vehicle (ATV)

The ATV activity is one that I was looking forward too. 3.5 kilometer ride traversing the mountain of Dahilayan, the mechanical motor adventure, even though it was my first time, was fulfilling. I had my doubts if I can manage the self-propelled vehicle, as I fear I would fall of its chair or stumble a large rock and get knocked down. But good thing it didn’t happen, it was easy to operate, a push in your right thumb to accelerate and a break on the left handle. Also, there is a guide that would help all the riders, just in case. 🙂

buggy 2
atv 2

Buggy

The Buggy ride is similar to the ATV. It has a restriction of 150 kg for 2 persons. I wasn’t able try this but would never miss it next time.

buggy

Saddle Ride

The horse riding experience was scary for me for awhile. It was easy to get on the horse, but when it starts walking I have to balance myself. I kept telling the kid in front who was assisting me to slow down. Good thing the horse was kind and didn’t freak out.

horse riding

Forest cafe

The restaurant is well designed. It really matches the over all theme of the park. The place is covered with net on its windows to avoid insects from getting in. The food is also great and affordable.

forest cafe 2
forest cafe 3
forest cafe
forest cafe 4

Pine Trees Picnic Area

The scene is amazing. Tall pine trees, cold wind, and picnic tables to cater people who would like to dine with nature. The place also has life size caricature of animals. I just took a look at the place. It’s good for families and barkadas to bond. As I observed, people during the day would spend their time here to eat, relax, have a look around and try the rides then would leave by 5 in the afternoon.

picnic area

picnic
picnic 2

Fish Pond

I think they have two ponds. The picture below is one near the jacuzzi and picnic area. There were fishes swimming and you can throw some coins for wishes.

ponf
pond

Zorbit

I didn’t try this Zorbit. I feel like it would make me dizzy. Maybe some other time. It was funny when I was watching some other guest try this. They were yelling while rolling down hill. As what I saw, two persons are allowed inside, strapped against its plastic round wall. Imagine that. 😉

zorb

Game room

Kinda bummed out with their game room. It was always unavailable when we go there. But outdoor activities should be done during the day and jacuzzi and game room at night.

Jacuzzi

Ah yes. The jacuzzi. Mysterious. Haven’t gotten inside. 🙂

jacuzzi

Tips

1. If you are going to stay overnight, make sure you book accomodations early.

2. Bring extra jacket because it can get really cold. Seriously.

3. All of the activities can be done within 2 days, that is both from the adventure park and forest park.

4.They sell fresh vegetables. A head’s up if you want to buy those green leafy vegetables, bring some container.

5. Make sure you bring some proper garments for the jacuzzi.


For more information, visit their web page.

There you go. My adventure uphill. More to come so please subscribe and don’t forget to like and share, because awesome people share the love. It would be fancy if you would also share your adventures, suggestions, comments, corrections, just comment below! 🙂

Posted on March 30, 2015, in Sports, Travel and Leisure and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share your thoughs ^_^

