The Paradox of our Time

One fine Sunday morning, on a service, our Pastor shared a wonderful poem entitled The Paradox of our Time. Correct me If I’m wrong but I think the author is George Carlin. And so I’m putting it here to share to everyone the wonderful message of the poem.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The Paradox of our Time

by George Carlin

The paradox of our time in history is that

we have taller buildings, but shorter tempers;

wider freeways, but narrower viewpoints.

We spend more, but have less;

we buy more, but enjoy it less.

We have bigger houses and smaller families;

more conveniences, but less time;

we have more degrees, but less sense;

more knowledge, but less judgment;

more experts, yet more problems;

more medicine, but less wellness.

We drink too much, smoke too much,

spend too recklessly, laugh too little,

drive too fast, get too angry,stay up too late,

get up too tired, read too little,

watch TV too much and pray too seldom.

We have multiplied our possessions, but reduced our values.

We talk too much, love too seldom, and hate too often.

We’ve learned how  to make a living, but not a life;

we’ve added years to life, not life to years.

We’ve been all the way to the moon and back,

but have trouble crossing the street to met the new neighbor.

We’ve conquered outer space, but not inner space.

We’ve done larger things, but not better things.

We’ve cleaned up the air, but polluted the soul.

We’ve conquered the atom, but not our prejudice.

We write more, but learn less.

We plan more, accomplish less.

We’ve learned to rush, but not to wait.

We build more computers to hold more information

to produce more copies than ever, but we communicate less and less.

These are the time of fast foods and slow digestion,

big men and small character, steep profits and shallow relationships.

These are the times of world “peace” but constant conflict,

more leisure but less enjoyment, more kinds of food but less nutrition.

These are the days of two incomes but more divorce,

fancier houses but broken homes.

These are days of quick trips disposable diapers, throwaway morality,

one-night stands, overweight bodies, and pills that do everything cheer to quiet, to kill.

It is time when there is much in the show window and nothing in the stockroom,

a time when technology can bring this letter to you,

and a time when you can choose either to share  this insight, or to just hit delete.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

All the bold’s and italicizes are mine, edited for emphasis only. And so upon reading it, it’s kind of a reflection too right?  You might think that there’s got to be more than this, of where you are in your life now? Well I tell you there is. You might say that, “I’ve lived my life. I’m enjoying it.” Well it may be true but I know it’s not the whole thing. I hope the poem can inspire everyone of us to check up on ourselves and ask, what have I been doing lately? am I making a difference to my self and to others?

Let me just share this. When I was still young as far as I can remember from the time na wa nako galaag kay akong friends nibalhin, I was always at home watching TV. Cable so ayos kaayo. Kung holidays and summers, TV rajud akong atupagon. hahah. And guess what I finished high school without even having to get connected to the internet. super. We have a pc, so obsolete, windows 98 pa, and I use it for my projects and researches na sa encarta lang pud nako ginakuha. Imagine that. Rare lang jud ko naga.surf sa internet sauna and to think IT pajud akong gikuha na mas hilig man ko sa sports. I guess if I’ve gotten in to UP I’d taken Sports Science.

But anyway, The TV and internet can be very addictive. So upon coming home back to gensan, no cable tv and no internet sa house, I thought “Patay. boring kaayo ani oi. tsk.” But guess what, I realize that Cable TV and the internet is not really important. I also realize that TV is feeding us with senseless information of superficial stuffs, programming our thoughts of what should be the mainstream of our society when clearly you can see that it is degrading our morals. Much more with the internet. Sometimes I think, technology can be evil at times.

Life is so complex yet can be simple too. Turn off your TV. Spend less on the internet. Read books. Connect with people. Build relationships. Strive for self development. Experience nature.

Posted on June 14, 2011, in Life's Like That and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share your thoughs ^_^

